In Hampi (Sacred, Urban, Royal, Suburban)

Sacred Center

The Sacred Centres of Vijayanagara are made up of distinct temple districts, partly defined by fort walls, laid out along the southern bank of the Tungabhadra River. Shaivite shrines are located primarily to the west and Vaishnavite shrines are primarily to the east of the Kodandarama temple.

Below are the 24 Temples of Sacred Centers

  • Virupaksha Temple
  • Achyutaraya Temple
  • Inscribed Vishnu temple
  • Vishnu temple No. I
  • Vishnu temple No. II
  • Vishnu temple No. III
  • Jain temple
  • Two storied Mantapa
  • Ruined tank
  • Mandapa
  • Group of Sati memorials & Chandikeshwara temple
  • Saraswati temple
  • Monolithic Bull
  • Narasimha Statue
  • Linga temple
  • Krishna temple
  • Kadalekalu Ganesha temple
  • Sasivekalu Ganesha temple
  • Group of Jain temples
  • Vishnupada temple
  • Vitthala temple
  • Stone chariot
  • Musical Pillars
  • King’s Balance

Urban Core

Short distances to the south of the Irrigated Valley are the walls of the Urban Core, they elite residential zone of the Vijayanagara capital. Parallel ridges and valleys that extend northeast southwest dominate this area. Malyavanta hill overlooks the eastern end of the zone while lower outcrops and small valleys at the west end open to plains to south and west.

Below are the 8 Monuments of Urban Core:

  • Raghunatha Swami Temple
  • Saraswati Temple
  • Ganigitti Temple
  • Chandrashekhara Temple
  • Bhima’s Gateway
  • Octagonal Water Pavilion
  • Domed Gateway
  • Fort Gateway

Royal Center

The Royal Centre is the place where the Vijayanagara kings and their private households lived and conducted the daily business of ceremony and government. A good deal of the zone is subdivided into irregular interlocking compounds by high slender walls built of tightly fitted granite blocks that face a rubble core.

Below are the 34 Temples in Royal Centers

  • Hazara Ramachandra Temple
  • Basement of King’s Audience Hall
  • Platform
  • Large Stone Trough
  • Large Stone Door
  • Stone Aqueduct
  • Basement of Palace
  • Ruined Cart Street
  • Two pillars and a Group of Mortar
  • Queen’s Bath
  • Octagonal Pavilion
  • Lotus Mahal Pavilion
  • South East Watch Tower
  • North Watch Tower
  • Basement of Queen’s Palace
  • Water Pavilion
  • Treasury House in Zanana
  • Wall & Gateway’s of Zanana
  • Ranga Temple
  • Elephant’s Stable
  • Bhojana Shala
  • Jain Temple
  • Mohammaden Watch Tower
  • Band Tower
  • Palace Basement
  • Mosque in Donnaik
  • Large Public Bath
  • Large Underground Temple
  • Basement of Large Mixed Building
  • The Platform
  • Stepped Well
  • Underground Shrine Chamber
  • Mahanavami Dibba
  • Guard’s House

Suburban Sites

Suburban site is the place from where food and goods are supplied to the king, court and general population. Here camped the thousands of troops and animals that were displayed during the annual Mahanavami festival, and which were brought to the capital before warring campaigns.

Below are the 7 temples located in Suburban sites:

  • Pattabhirama temple
  • Mohammaden tomb and Darga
  • Two small Siva temples
  • Ruined tank
  • Archeological Museum
  • Ananthashayana Temple